School Logo




Published on: January 24 2019


Dimapur District Philatelic Exhibition, DIMAPEX 2019, a two-day programme got underway at Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School on 24th January 2019 with Deputy Commissioner of Dimapur District, Mr. Kevekha Kevin Zehol, NCS as the Special Guest for the Inaugural Function.
The exhibition showcasing stamp collections, organised by the Nagaland division of the Postal Department Nagaland Division, included the release of Special First Day Cover Envelopes commemorating 100 years of the Naga Labour Corps and 25 years of All Nagaland Private Schools’ Association (ANPSA) Dimapur.
On the release of the Special Covers, the Dimapur DC stated that it was pertinent that the Naga Labour Corps be honoured in a significant manner. He also noted that the private schools in the state were faring better than government schools. Zehol observed that government schools were hardly seen among the top 20 positions in HSLC/HSSLC exams despite having qualified and well paid teachers. He added that it was time to find ways towards improving the performance of government schools. The DC also emphasized on the importance of inculcating a good hobby stating that it could also lead to creativity.
Speaking during the same programme, Convenor, World War I, Sumi Naga Labour Corps Association, Dr. H. Hotokhu Chishi likened those who went to France as having sowed the seeds of Naga political identity in 1918 which sprouted in the memo submission to the Simon Commission in 1929; and formation of the NNC in 1946. He said the Government of India should realize that Nagas had their concept of political identity in 1918.
Superintendent of Posts, Nagaland, Mr. Lalramzauva and ANPSA President, Dr. Andrew Ahoto also addressed the gathering, following which the Special Guest inaugurated the exhibition.
The Philatelic Exhibition was made even more endearing by the presence of Mr. Sanjay R. Joshi, an avid philatelist and numismatist who came all the way from Maharashtra along with his daughter to participate in DImapex 2019 as an Invitee as well as to exhibit his collection of Stamps, Coins and Currencies from all over the world. His collections were put up for display at the Basket Ball Court. The students from LFHSS and other schools participated in the Stamp Exhibition as well as Stamp Designing Competitions.
The two-day event concluded with the Closing Ceremony on 25th January 2019 with Dr. Andrew Ahoto, Chairman of Livngstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School as the Guest of Honour. The Closing Ceremony started at around 10:30 AM at the school auditorium which was attended among others by the Supdt. of Posts Mr. Lalramzauva and the Asst. Supdt. of Posts, Mr. E. Yanthan. The programme began with a special number by Ms. Gaibimei Kamei of Grade-XI entitled All Goes Down. The compere for the programme was Ms. Sharon Losu from the Postal Department.
Speaking on the sidelines of the 100 Years of the WW1 Naga Labour Corps, Mr. Andrew Ahoto called the event as a Historical one and called upon the gathering to appreciate the rich legacy of the Naga forefathers who had participated in two great wars of the world. He lamented that due to a tech savvy world and advancement in technology, the old customs of stamp collections and letter writing were dying out. He urged the gathering to revive the old traditions and to preserve the old customs. He was of the opinion that youths of the north east were very laid back in their attitude and expect everything in a platter. According to him, a teacher’s job is nowadays much more lucrative than a government employee’s job due to numerous reasons. He appreciated the States like Sikkim and Mizoram where people have high civic sense and discipline. He challenged the students to take up creative hobbies like collecting stamps along with studies. He also expressed profound thanks to all the participating students and schools for their cooperation in conducting the Philatelic Exhibition. Especially he thanked the Postal Department for having organized the exhibition like a family.
Later, Dr. Andrew Ahoto and Mr. Sunil Joshi were felicitated by the Superintendent of Posts. Various prizes in different categories of competitions including Philatelic Exhibition and Stamp Designing were awarded to the contestants during the programme. The programme came to an end with the Vote of Thanks proposed by Mr. L. Imtikumzuk, Organizing Secretary of Dimapex 2019.

1.        1st Prize in Philately Exhibition – Mr. Aaron Akivito
2.        1st Prize in Stamp Designing (Cat-A)  – Miss Ayushi Dhawal
3.        1st Prize in Stamp Designing (Cat-C)  – Mr. Shingya Phom
4.        2nd Prize in Philately Exhibition – Mr. Aakash Kr. Prasad
5.        2nd Prize in Stamp Designing (Cat-A)  – Miss Penyu I. Longchar
6.        2nd Prize in Stamp Designing (Cat-B)  – Miss Rishita Deka
7.        3rd Prize in Philately Exhibition – Mr. Gavin Sangma
8.        3rd Prize in Stamp Designing (Cat-C) – Mr. Sariyo Muivah