School Logo




Published on:


The Dimapur District Common Teachers’ Day Function was held at the Covenant Hall in Christian Hr. Sec. School, Dimapur on 5th September 2017. The programme which began at 2:00 PM was graced by Mr. Kesonyu Yohme, IAS, Deputy Commissioner, Dimapur and organized by the District Education Office (DEO).
Vice-Principal (Administration) of Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, Mr. Shyamal Nag, M.Sc. (Maths) B.Ed. was one of the awardees of the Dimapur District Teachers Award 2017 which was presented by the Chief Guest during the occasion.

The hour long programme was hosted by Mrs. Lydia Chophy, PGT, GHSS Dimapur and Mr. Limasunep, PGT, GHSS Dimapur as Comperes. An opening song by students of Christian Hr. Sec. School marked the beginning of the colorful function. This was followed by the Welcome Address by Mrs. R. Amongla Jamir, DDEO Dimapur. The ‘Significance of the Day’ was exhorted to the gathering by Mr. Andrew Ahoto, Chairman cum Principal of LFHSS and President ANPSA. Speech on behalf of the Awardees was delivered by Mr. Chuba Temjen from GHS Diphupar. Earlier in the day, the Invocation Prayer was said by Fr. Philip, Principal of Holy Cross Hr. Sec. School.

Other items of the programme included an Action Song by Students with Special Needs of Christian Hr. Sec. School, Dance items by students of St. Paul School and St. Mary’s Hr. Sec. School, Ode to Teachers by Bethesda Hr. Sec. School, Choreography Item by students of GMS Disaguphu.

Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Guest Mr. Kesonyu Yhome urged upon the teachers to transform society from literate to an enlightened and educated society. He also made a comparison of the State’s Educational Statistics before and after statehood stating that in 1951, Nagaland’s literacy rate was 10.5% which shot up rapidly to 79.55% as per 2011’s census. He attributed this success to the sincere and dedicated sacrifices of the teachers.

The programme came to a close with the Vote of Thanks by Mrs. Piholi Swuneto, SDEO Niuland and Closing Song and Prayer by GMS Aoyimti.