School Logo




Published on: November 6 2016


The 2nd Nagaland Chapter of the Indian International Model United Nations (IIMUN) 2016 was held at Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, Dimapur on 4th and 5th November 2016 with student delegates from 6 schools from Nagaland including Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School participating in it. The inaugural function of the IIMUN Nagaland Chapter was held at the LFHSS Auditorium on 4th November 2016. The programme which began at 9:00 AM was led by Mr. Karan Ghebring and Mr. Thuireishang Jamang as the comperes. This year’s Chapter of IIMUN Nagaland was formally declared open by Mr. Hriday Bhatia, Vice President of IIMUN who was the Secretary General of this year’s IIMUN Chapter of Nagaland. The other highlights of the inaugural programme were Welcome Speech presented by Academic Principal of LFHSS, Mr. Prabhat Mandal, singing of the National Anthem, special video show of IIMUN and Key note address by Mr. Hriday Bhatia, V.President of IIMUN.

The student delegates from Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, The Maple Tree School, Delhi Public School, St. Mary’s Montessori & Hr. Sec. School, S.D. Jain Hr. Sec. School and Ram Janaki Hr. sec. School participated in debate sessions across the two days under four different Committees of IIMUN Nagaland Chapter viz., the United Nations Security Council (UNSC), World Bank, World Health Organisation (WHO), Lok Sabha and the International Press (IP) in which they deliberated on current political and social issues including creation of awareness and garnering support for India’s Permanent Seat in the UN Security Council. The general mode of conducting the sessions was the representation of various Countries in the UN and Ministers/Members of Parliament (Lok Sabha) by the delegates who were issued specially made Placards which contained the names of Countries or portfolios and names of Ministers or MP’s which the delegates represented.

The students had hands on experience on the working of world bodies like the UN Security Council and also the legislative proceedings as carried out in the Lok Sabha. A special team of Executive Body members had come from Guwahati and Numaligarh to look after and chair the proceedings of the committees. The team consisted of Mr. Sundaram Goswami, Chairperson of UNSC from Delhi Public School Numaligarh, Mr. Debraj Bora, Chairperson of WHO from G.D. Goenka Public School Guwahati, Miss Darshana Deka, Chairperson of Lok Sabha from Maria’s Public School Guwahati and Ramanuj Kashyap, Charperson of World Bank from Don Bosco Guwahati. Some of the other important highlights of the two-day event were – photo sessions of different committees and signature campaign where all the dignitaries, delegates and teachers put their signatures on a specially made board.

The two-day event of the IIMUN Nagaland Chapter finally came to a close on 5th November 2016 with the closing ceremony led by Mr. Hriday Bhatia which was held at the LFHSS Auditorium from 4:30 onwards where the Special Guest was Mrs. Ani Yepthomi, Director of Junior High, Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School. In her brief address to the gathering she expressed her deepest gratitude to all the delegates from various schools for participating in such an event which would enhance their skills in every perspective and lead to both intellectual and personality growth. She welcomed them to LFHSS for such endeavors in the future too. She also said a small thanksgiving prayer for the success and achievement of the 2nd Nagaland Chapter of IIMUN. This was followed by the presentation of Medals and Certificates by the Chairpersons of different Committees to the Awardees of Best Delegate, High Commendation and Special Mention Awards of individual committees. This year’s Best Delegation Award was won by The Maple Tree School, Dimapur who were presented with a Trophy by the Special Guest Mrs. Ani Yepthomi and Mr. Zakir Hussain, Co-Convenor of the Organising Committee. It is worth mentioning here that according to the convention of IIMUN Chapters the host school is not eligible to receive the Best Delegation Award.

Mr. Hriday Bhatia, Vice President of IIMUN while declaring the formal closing of the 2nd Nagaland Chapter of IIMUN also invited the student delegates from all the participating schools to the IIMUN International Mega Conference to be held in August 2017 at the UN Headquarters at New York in USA. He also announced direct entry of all the winners including the Best Delegation School in the New York Conference of IIMUN. The New York Conference will be a Flagship Conference of IIMUN to propagate India’s push for a Permanent Membership in the United Nations Security Council.