School Logo




Published on: September 7 2015


Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, Dimapur added another feather to its hat of achievements when it participated at the Championship Conference of India International Model United Nations (IIMUN) which was held at Aamby Valley City, Pune, Maharashtra from 20th to 23rd August 2015. The team from Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School comprised of 27 students and 3 faculty members.

The Conference held at Aamby Valley City is the world’s largest residential youth conference and was the grand finale of the 30 Chapter Conferences held across the country in various schools and colleges. Around 3000 Student Delegates representing 117 cities across 30 countries participated in the Conference. The educational extravaganza saw different Committees and Parliamentary Bodies being simulated such as the WHO, SOCHUM, DISEC, Lok Sabha, IP, etc. Added to this were the special speakers’ sessions, where, both the delegates and the faculty members from various schools and colleges got to experience interactions with highly learned and revered personalities of the International arena.

The conference was more than just a Model United Nations. It was an entire plethora of exhilarating and enriching learning platform as the delegates were exposed to a myriad of opportunities to voice out their opinions by forwarding their drafted resolutions to the United Nations.

The delegates from Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School participated in 9 different Committees of the Model United Nations (MUN) representing the countries of Afghanistan and Poland. The Committees in which they represented included- HRC, LEGAL, SOCHUM, DISEC, ADMIN, WHO, ECOFIN, UNEP and SPECPOL.

Some of the prominent dignitaries who attended the Conference included Martin Nesirky, Director of UN Information Service, Vienna; Aziz Ehsaan, Leader of Opposition, Pakistan Senate; Mani Shankar Aiyar, former Minister of External Affairs; William Yotine, Manager at UN Headquarters in New York; Avani Davda, 34 years old youngest CEO from India; Anu Aga, renowned Businesswoman and Social Worker from India; Ashley Lobo, Indian Choreographer; founder of UTV, Ronnie Screwvala; KTS Tulsi, Senior Advocate of Supreme Court; Subhash Chandra, owner of ZEE TV; popular Bollywood actress Padma Shri Award recipient, Vidya Balan; Vivek Agnihotri, Bollywood Director, Producer and Screenwriter; Ameesh Tripathi, National Bestseller Writer; Kiran Bedi, the first Indian Lady IPS Officer; Ragini Makkar, Indian Kathak Dancer; TV anchor and Theatre Personality, Cyrus Broacha; Leslie Lewis, Indian Singer and Composer; and Jwala Gutta, International Badminton Player from India among many others.

Apart from the regular sessions of the student delegates and the faculty members, there was a special session of the Heads of more than 30 schools from across the country. Chairman of Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, Mr. Andrew Ahoto attended and participated in the proceedings of the special session of the Heads of Schools in which various agendas of the IIMUN were deliberated. It was also decided that the next Championship Conference of IIMUN would be held at the UN Headquarters at New York in the United States of America. Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. would be the only school from Nagaland to receive the rare privilege of being invited for the Championship Conference at New York.