School Logo




Published on: June 23 2015


The first ever Nagaland Chapter of the Indian International Model United Nations (IIMUN) 2015 was held at Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, Dimapur on 20th and 21st June 2015 with 16 schools from Nagaland as well as various North Eastern states participating as student delegates. The inaugural function of the IIMUN Nagaland Chapter was held at the Auditorium of Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, Dimapur on 20 June 2015 with Mr. Yitachu Pfitu, the Hon’ble Minister of School Education, Government of Nagaland, as the Chief Guest and Mr. Andrew Ahoto, the Chairman of Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School as the host. The other important dignitaries present during the inaugural function were Mr. Aman Baldia, Vice President of IIMUN, Mr. Vedant Haran, Director General of IIMUN North Eastern Region, Mr. C.P. Alexander, Pro-Vice Chancellor of ICFAI University Nagaland and Ms. Yeangao, Deputy Manager, ICFAI University Nagaland. Apart from the Chief Guest, the other prominent speakers were Mr. Aman Baldia, Mr. Andrew Ahoto and Mr. C.P. Alexander.

The student delegates participated in debate sessions across the two days under three Committees of IIMUN Nagaland Chapter viz., the Security Council (SC), Human Rights Commission (HRC) and Lok Sabha in which they deliberated on current political and social issues like Human Rights, Juvenile Rights and Armed Forces Special Powers Act. The general mode of conducting the sessions was the representation of various Countries and Ministers and Members of Parliament (Lok Sabha) by the delegates who were issued specially made Placards which contained the names of Countries or portfolios and names of Ministers or MP’s which the delegates represented. The students had hands on experience on the working of world bodies like the Security Council and also the legislative proceedings as carried out in the Lok Sabha. A special team of Executive Body members had come from Sarla Birla, Guwahati to look after and chair the proceedings of the committees. The team consisted of Indrajeet Hessa, Hrithik Modi, Vedant Patusary and Mehul Pasari. It was also revealed by Mr. Aman Baldai that all the issues deliberated during the event would be given due importance and the consensus of the student delegates would be sent as a report to the UN Office at New York as well as to the Ministry of External Affairs, Government of India.

Some of the important highlights of the two-day event were – the hand print and signature campaign board where all the dignitaries, delegates and teachers put their handprints and autographed their signatures on 20 June; special Tree Plantation Drive where important dignitaries including the Chief Guest planted saplings on the inaugural day on 20 June; participation in the International Day of Yoga organized at the Green Lawn of Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School where more than 1200 students, teachers, NCC Cadets & various officials from NCC and Govt. of Nagaland participated on 21 June and a special photo session of the delegates, officials of IIMUN along with Chairman and staff of Livingstone Foundation Hr. Sec. School, at the Basketball Court of the New School Campus on 21 June

The two-day event of the IIMUN Nagaland Chapter finally came to a close on the 21st of June with the closing ceremony which was held at the School Auditorium from 4:30 onwards where the Chairman of LFHSS, Mr. Andrew Ahoto and his lady wife, Mrs. Ani Yepthomi, gave away presentations, certificates and awards to the best delegates from all the Committees of IIMUN Nagaland Chapter. Presentations were also given out to Mr. Aman Baldia, Vice President of IIMUN, Mr. Vedant Haran, Director General, IIMUN North East Region, Mr. Indrajit Hessa and his team from Sarla Birla, Guwahati and the team of Camera Persons led by Mr. Deepak. Parting speeches were given by Mr. Andrew Ahoto, Chairman LFHSS, Mr. Aman Baldia, Vice President IIMUN and Mr Indrajit Hessa representing the Executive Body from Sarla Birla Guwahati. The closing function was brief and was marked by several dance and song items by the students and teachers present during the occasion. The Best Delegation Award was given away to Delhi Public School, Numaligarh, Assam because going by the convention of IIMUN Chapters the host school is not eligible to receive the Best Delegation Award.